July 6, 2018

New Board President and Trustees Announced

The San Diego Museum of Art announced a new President of the Board and the appointment of five new members to its Board of Trustees. The new board has been carefully selected to help the Museum further its mission inspire, educate, and cultivate curiosity through great works of art, and enhance the rich and diverse cultural experience for Museum visitors. The board members began their new roles on July 1, 2018.

Taffin Ann Ray succeeds President Harvey White, who has been Board President for the past two years and has served on the board since 2007. Ray has volunteered as a docent for the past eight years and will continue to be a docent while serving as President of the Board. She is the first Museum docent to serve as Board President. Ray is a San Diego native with a master’s degree in psychology from California Western University. She has previously served as chair on the Museum’s executive committee. Ray also served on the collections committee, the facilities committee as well as the education and development committees.

“I am thrilled to welcome the new board members and to have Taffin as our new President of the Board,” said Roxana Velásquez, Maruja Baldwin Executive Director of The San Diego Museum of Art. “Taffin’s committed passion for the Museum, her daily dedication to its mission, and her knowledge of its collection and operation are unparalleled due to her many years serving both as a docent and board member. These unique and invaluable qualities will serve the Museum well as we work toward achieving the goal of sharing more art experiences with the San Diego community and its many visitors.”

Joining Ray are newly elected vice presidents Toni Bloomberg, long-standing trustee of The San Diego Museum of Art, and Mitch Mitchell, vice president of legislative and external affairs for Southern California Gas Company and San Diego Gas & Electric, Sempra Energy’s regulated California utilities. Webster Burke “Buzz” Kinnaird, a San Diego attorney, and Kenneth J. Widder, M.D., a venture consultant, continue their roles as vice presidents.

Additionally, Robert Dotson has been appointed as treasurer, Jill Lozier as assistant treasurer and Frank Rogozienski as assistant secretary.

Alongside the new officers, the Museum welcomes five new trustees:

Armando Ibarra, Jr., CPA, J.D., has more than 20 years of experience in accounting and managing and supervising several international clients. Ibarra has served on several boards including the San Diego County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Juan Pablo Franco is a business owner experienced in international trade and commerce with a focus on importing furniture for interior design hospitality and residential projects. Franco’s projects span the United States and Mexico.

Ross Harter is a senior vice president and private client manager at U.S. Trust, Bank of America Private Wealth Management. With more than 15 years of commercial banking experience, Harter brings extensive financial guidance to the Museum’s board.

Marianela de la Hoz is a Mexican painter who has lived in San Diego County for over 10 years. Hoz’s artwork has been displayed internationally in prestigious galleries, museums, universities and cultural institutions, including a solo exhibition at The San Diego Museum of Art in 2012.

Jacqueline Johnson, Ph.D., is co-founder and chief operating officer of Sydnexis Inc., a development stage biotechnology company focused on stopping the progression of childhood myopia. Johnson has served on a number of boards of directors including OrPro Therapeutics, Pharmatek and Vision of Children.